Wilhelm, Darling Brother. Never forgotten.

You died at 21 on a leap year 1986, staying forever young in all the pics. Your love the sweetest memory held tight. Recalling you, strong- able to fight. Not afraid to live truth and face fear. You wrote “Jesus looks after you”, this is clear.

Jesus has dear brother, you were so right. I learnt you tried to cling to life with all your might. In this world some may think you did not come through. But I hold firm to hope in Christ who makes all things new. Generous darling heart so warm and wise. Your heart full of forgiveness even in death refused to despise.

I remember your hand holding mine. You had such a calming presence, one of a kind. We looked for Easter eggs upon the hill. Behind the Doll’s House, baskets to fill! Mum and Dad dressed so well, us kids too. The photographer on time to take a few.

Above the mantle piece we hung all proud. Laughter, music and people turned up loud!
Food and drink in abundance, Mum serving everyone. Trampoline, BBQ manned by Dad, sprinkler in the sun.

Pine forest, berry foraging, dirt tracks and bikes. Around Lake Catarni, upon your shoulder, long hikes. Those forever drives “Are we at Sydney yet?”, sleeping in the back seat. Always protected by you. Couldn’t wait to meet. Never enough time with you. Cousins in the way! You died and I still thought you’d walk through the door some day.

Loving memories taking over that awful grief. Loss was bearable as I watched Mum believe. She believed you are forever young in Heaven’s Son. As it is written, spared from something way worse to come.

So life goes on right? Well it does with your words and your smile on my heart. That warmth of your presence stuck with me as a child from the start. Now I tell my kids “Jesus looks after you”, passing on your quote. Everything you stood for is something we will cherish and note.

Love you, your sister Jessie Xxoo written for you Wilhelm by me on 28/2/24

Leave a comment